top nav
About OCTI
Artificial Intelligence
Official Notation
Rules & Examples


1. If my opponent occupies one of my OCTI squares and can re-emerge pieces, how do I win? Can't he continue to re-emerge pieces every turn, preventing me from capturing all three of his emergence squares?

One may only re-emerge pieces on an occupied OCTI square. Thus, your opponent cannot prevent you from winning by continually re-emerging pieces.

2. Suppose I have three pods stacked together. Only two of the pods have prongs. Can I move all three on a single move.

No. Only pods with prongs are able to move. You can move both of the other pods simultaneously, but only in the direction of their prongs.

3. I have a superprong in one of my pods, and the superprong faces north. Can I use my superprong to jump north and northeast before my usual turn begins? Or does the superprong move only allow that pods to move north?

The superpronged pod can only move or jump north. Any other movement must come during the usual part of the turn.

4. Can any number of pieces stack together?


5. Do I lose if all seven of my pods are captured?

Yes. The rules require that you either build or move during a turn. If you have no pods left, you cannot meet this requirement.

6. Can a stack of pods jump to the same square? Or does the first pod to jump prevent others from jumping there?

Pods can jump to the same square. Any pods that move during a turn ignore each other for purposes of moving and jumping. So the first pod to move/jump has no effect on other pods that move/jump.

7. Suppose two pods are stacked on square 33. Suppose that one jumps 33-53-55-33, and the other one jumps 33-31-11-33. Is that legal?

Yes. Moving pods ignore each other.

8. Suppose two pods are stacked on square 33. Suppose that one jumps 33-53-55-33, but the other remains unmoved on square 33. Is that legal?

No. The moving pod cannot return to square 33. Stacked pieces only ignore each other when they each move. In this case, the second pod did not move.

9. Suppose I occupy an opponent's starting square, and I have pods in reserve. If I notate my move "33" (add a pod), how will we know that I added a liberated pod rather than one from my reserve?

It is assumed that the new pod has been liberated, since there is never any reason to use a pod in reserve. Pods in reserve are more valuable, because they can be introduced on unoccupied friendly squares.

10. Suppose two pods are stacked in a square, and I jump them. Can I remove just one, or must I remove none or both?

For purposes of playing Octi on-line or competing in the upcoming Robot tournament, you must remove both. The reason has to do with the awkwardness of the notation associated with single-piece captures. When playing in other venues, you may capture just one.

11. Which player moves first?

The dark colored pieces move first. In the physical game, the first player is therefore brown; on-line, the first player is red.

12. Can you ever have ties in Octi, and if so, what causes them?

Draws are extremely rare. As far as I know, no one has encountered on in an actual game. But it is theoretically possible. Any 3-time repetition of moves by both players will be declared a draw.